The Iyengar System

From July 2020, RIMYI has implemented new Certification and Assessment Guidelines after considering the input from Iyengar teachers and students around the world. Iyengar Yoga New Zealand is hard at work to implement this new system.

The changes to the Certification and Assessment system are intended to make the process more open and sensitive, with the overarching goal of allowing all of us within the system to deepen and develop our study and practice of yoga.

2020 Certification and Assessment Guidelines

We strongly encourage all current and future Teacher Trainees, Certified Teachers, Teacher Trainers/Mentors and Assessors to familiarise themselves with the new Guidelines.

You can download a copy of the Certification and Assessment Guidelines here.

Got Questions?

The new Certification and Assessment Guidelines are very in-depth and thorough.  We suggest that you refer to them in the first instance if you have any questions or concerns.

You can download a copy of the IYNZ Teacher Certification Handbook by clicking here.  This document outlines detailed requirements & procedures for certification and assessment in New Zealand Aotearoa.

If you are currently working with a Teacher Trainer/Mentor and have questions about the new system, we recommend that you contact your Trainer/Mentor in the first instance.  Alternatively, you can  email the IYNZ Assessment & Teacher Training Committee on

Enrolling as a Teacher Trainee

Click here to register as a Teacher Trainee.

Becoming a Teacher Trainer/Mentor

IYNZ members who’ve held Junior Intermediate 2 certification for more than two years (prior to July 2020) can now register as a Trainer/Mentor and are also eligible to Assess at Level 1.

If you are interested in becoming a Trainer/Mentor, please check the Guidelines to ensure your eligibility first and then email your expression of interest to the IYNZ Assessment & Teacher Training Committee on



Next Page - Teacher Trainee Enrolment →



 Email This    |     Print

“Perfection in an asana is achieved when the effort to perform it becomes effortless and the infinite being within is reached.”

– B.K.S. Iyengar

Related Pages